IPL 2020 – What is Indian Premier League? | IPL FAQ

Posted by

IPL 2020: Indian Premier League


This FAQ list will answer all your questions around the IPL. Inevitable Virat Kohli is the most expensive player in ipl. Inevitable Virat Kohli is the most expensive player in ipl.
Cricket fans across the country hope that the edition of the 13th Indian Premier League is big and good, but the prospect is becoming increasingly disappointing. With the coronavirus outbreak in the country and the world increasing, governments are taking strict measures to check the spread of COVID-19. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) told ET that they were optimistic about hosting the IPL this year, but did not want to reach any immediate conclusion as this is still a developing situation. However, eight Indian IPL franchises have cancelled pre-tournament camps until further notice. Earlier, the cash-rich tournament was suspended for the week till April 15.

The RCB training camp, which starts on March 21, has been adjourned till further notice, Royal Challengers Bangalore tweeted on Monday, keeping in mind the health and safety of everyone involved. We urge everyone to follow the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health and to be safe.

Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders also cancelled their camps keeping in mind government advice on coronavirus.

Here is a list of frequently asked questions that can help you understand the Indian Premier League better.

What is the Indian Premier League?

IPL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, which is contested annually by eight teams representing eight different cities in India. Established by the BCCI in 2008, the league has an exclusive window in the ICC Future Tours program and has the highest presence in the world. The current IPL title holders are Mumbai Indians, who won the 2019 season, but this year is the 13th edition of the Premier League.


What is the purpose of IPL?

The IPL Lalit Mode is called brainchild, modelled with club football in Europe with the English Premier League. On September 13, 2007, the BCCI announced the launch of the franchise-based Twenty20 cricket tournament. The then BCCI Vice President Lalit Modi had elaborated on the tournament at a huge function in which he said that the IPL would be managed by a seven-member governing council made up of former Indian players and BCCI officials.

What format is IPL?

THE IPL currently has eight teams – each playing twice in the all-play-all tournament format in the league stage, which is the first stage. This results in a place in the top four teams that qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams play each other in the first qualifying match and the winner goes straight to the IPL finals. The losing team gets another chance by playing another qualifying match. Meanwhile, third and fourth-ranked teams in the league stage play each other in eliminator matches. The winner of this match plays the loser from the first qualifying match – then the winner goes to the final.

Who is the highest paid player in IPL?

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli is the most expensive player in the Indian Premier League season 12 in 2019, with a salary of US$2.6 million (over Rs 17 crore). He was followed by former India captains MS Dhoni and Rishabh Pant. Besides, Australian bowler Pat Cummins, worth Rs 15.50 crore, was the most expensive foreign player sold to Kolkata Knight Riders.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *