How does the Indian Premier League work? IPL Cricket Explanation

Posted by

IPL 2020: Indian Premier League


Geplaatst door Ipl live op Donderdag 1 oktober 2020


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the annual T20 cricket tournament which started in 2008.

When the national team won the 2007 World T20, it was founded by lalit modi, then vice-president of bcci, as a result of the popularity of the T20 format in India.

When does it start?

IPL is held every year in March, April and May and lasts for about seven weeks.

The 2020 edition will run in the United Arab Emirates from September to November 2020 due to the coronavirus outbreak.

How many teams are there in ipl?

IPL is a franchise based competition with eight teams representing every Indian city.

When the tournament was first established, an auction was held to determine the cities based on teams, as well as owners of each team.

Eight teams participating in the 2008 IPL were in Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and Mumbai.

The Mumbai franchise, mumbai indians, was the most expensive, with Reliance Industries paying $111.9 million to buy it.

Several reforms have been made in the coming years due to financial and match fixing restrictions on certain franchises.

Teams from Pune, Kochi and Rajkot have participated since the start of the tournament, but the 2020 list includes teams from eight cities like 2008, although hyderabad franchise has changed from deccan changers to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

How are IPL teams selected?

The franchise receives players through annual players’ auctions, through trading players in the specific trading window and signing players who are not selected in the auction.

Most of the signatures are held at auction, where players decide their base price and join the franchise, which ultimately bids the most for them.

At the end of every IPL season, the franchise should decide whether to renew or release each player’s contract.

The team should have 19-25 players, with a maximum of eight foreign players. The playing XI should not include more than four foreign players.


Learn more with our guide on how ipl auctions work.

What is the constitution?

Most tournaments follow a simple structure: each of the eight teams plays at home and away, with two points for a win, one point for a tie or one for a result, and no one for a loss.

At the end of that double round robin process, the bottom four teams are eliminated in the table and the top four teams make the playoffs.

The situation here becomes a little complicated.

The first and second-placed teams in the league table will face each other in Qualifier 1. The winner of the match will reach the final, but the defeat is not over yet.

Meanwhile, teams in third and fourth in the league table will face each other in the eliminator.

Eliminator defeat is knocked out, while eliminator winner gets the right to play the loser of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2.

The winner of Qualifier 2 plays the winner of Qualifier 1 in the final, where the winner of the tournament is crowned.

Teams will be allowed unlimited Covid-19 options in the 2020 edition.

Who is the most expensive player?

Australia’s Pat Cummins became the most expensive foreign player in the 2020 auction, costing Kolkata Knight Riders $155 million ($21 million).

Virat Kohli is the most expensive player overall – his 2018 contract with Royal Challengers Bangalore was renewed at 170 million ($24 million).

Who are the previous winners?

Mumbai Indians became the first team to win the IPL for the fourth time after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 final.

Chennai has won the title three times in 2010, 2011 and 2018. No other team has successfully defended the trophy.

Rajasthan Royals won the first edition of the IPL in 2008 but have not won the trophy since.

Now-closed Deccan Chargers won the title in 2009, with Sunrisers in 2012 ranked the Chargers as the Hyderabad franchise – successful in 2016.

Meanwhile, Kolkata Knight Riders were the champions in 2012 and 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *